An Lemmens, founder of “Pin Up Pup”

by violalecompte

An Lemmens is a Belgian TV and radio presenter with a big heart for animals. As soon as she was old enough, she started volunteering in animal shelters. She noticed that most pets on shelter websites didn’t look particularly good on the photos, and that’s how she came up with her idea for Pin Up Pup: she organizes photo shoots with shelter dogs across Flanders. The photos are fun, colorful, and allow the dog’s personality to really shine through. Not only does Pin Up Pup help to find these shelter dogs good homes, the organization also informs the public of the dangers of puppy mills, and gives its audience all the necessary information regarding the adoption of shelter dogs. An Lemmens also wrote a brand new book, where she writes about everything you need to know before adopting your very own Pin Up Pup.

(Voor de Belgen en Nederlanders onder jullie: Gelieve onder deze Engelse versie van An’s interview de originele, Nederlandstalige versie te vinden (even scrollen…) Alle foto’s bij dit artikel zijn van honden die nog ter adoptie staan! Indien u interesse heeft voor één van hen, kan u hier alle nodige informatie vinden.)

Laika2

Can you introduce yourself?
I’m An Lemmens, I’m 33 years old. You might know me from radio and TV, because I present shows on Studio Brussel and VTM. Or maybe you know me from Pin Up Pup, a project I started a year ago to put shelter animals in a positive light, and to convince people to adopt instead of buy a dog.
How did you become passionate about (shelter) animals?
I’ve always loved animals. All animals. I grew up between guinea pigs, rabbits, geese, chickens, ducks, turkeys, cats, parakeets, dogs, and even a little donkey. Most of these animals were strays, or animals that had been abandoned by their owners. So I guess you can say that my love for “the underdog” has been a part of me since childhood. As soon as I was old enough, I started taking shelter dogs out for walks. I was also interested in animal behavior and training, and medical care for animals. I took care of “palliative” animals, fostered rescued pets, and bottle-fed kittens.

Remi

Thaibo
How did you get the idea for Pin Up Pup?
Very simple. I wanted to “promote” shelter animals with beautiful photographs. You have to admit that some photos on shelter websites look really sad. The dog doesn’t look good in them, and it’s shot in a grey and gloomy environment. I wanted fun photos, that allow the personality of the dog to shine through. Pastel colors, a bit of vintage, cute dresses. Photos that don’t make you pity the animals, but that make you go: “Hey, nice dog!” And so I contacted a friend to make the photos, and another friend who’s a make-up artist, and together we do photo shoots of as many Pin Up Pups as possible. As you can see, Pin Up Pup is not a big organization. I literally do everything myself. Every email, every photo, every adoption I follow up myself.

Tommy

Dudu
You have several adopted animals yourself. Can you tell us a bit about them?
For that answer, I would advise you to buy the book, where I talk about my five darlings in depth 🙂 All of them didn’t have a great life before they came to live with me, and I’m happy I can provide them with a calm, stable, and loving home.
How would you convince people to adopt a pet instead of buy one?
The most important argument is that for every dog you adopt, you actually save two lives. Of course you rescue your dog, who might have gotten euthanized if he wouldn’t have been adopted. But you also, indirectly, save the life of a puppy mill dog, that doesn’t need to have another litter of puppies, or doesn’t have to get born under horrible circumstances. Your adoption money goes towards a good cause, which helps to save even more lives, instead of towards a deceptive breeder, who gets rich, gives his dogs another beating, and sells you a sick puppy. If you need more reasons, you will find them in my book 🙂

Blacky

Rocky

How can people support Pin Up Pup?
By buying my book! The profits go to Pin Up Pup, so we can help even more shelter dogs find their forever home, and we can continue our fight against puppy mills. You can also help shelters by volunteering, or by donating. And inform the people around you about the dangers of puppy mills. Advise those who are looking for a pet to visit a shelter!

Where can people follow Pin Up Pup?
www.facebook.com/pinuppuppinuppup
Www.pinuppup.be
I also post photos of the Pin Up Pups on instagram.com/anlemmensofficial

And every month, a selection of Pin Up Pups gets published in Woef.

Laika

 

NEDERLANDSE VERSIE

Zoals de meesten onder jullie zullen weten, is An Lemmens een TV en radio presentatrice met een groot hart voor dieren. Zo richtte ze de organisatie “Pin Up Pup” op, om zo asielhonden een betere kans te geven op adoptie. Ze strijdt ook tegen broodfokkers, en heeft net een nieuw boek geschreven, een volledige handleiding die je stap voor stap alle nodige informatie bijbrengt om zelf je eigen “pin up pup” in huis te halen.

Ducky

Kan je jezelf kort voorstellen?
Mijn naam is An Lemmens, ik ben 33 jaar. Als je me kent, kan dat zijn van radio en tv want ik presenteer oa op Studio Brussel en VTM. Máár je kan me ook kennen van Pin Up Pup, het project dat ik een jaar geleden in het leven riep om het imago van de asielhonden wat op te krikken, en om mensen aan te sporen dieren te adopteren in plaats van te kopen.
Hoe is je passie voor (asiel)dieren  ontstaan?
Ik heb altijd al een grote liefde voor dieren gehad. Alle dieren. Ik ben opgegroeid tussen cavia’s, konijnen, ganzen, kippen, eenden, kalkoenen, poezen, parkieten, honden en zelfs een muilezeltje. De meeste van deze dieren waren afdankertjes of zwervertjes. Je kan dus zeggen dat de liefde voor de “underdog” me met de paplepel ingegeven is. Verder ging ik vanaf het moment dat ik oud genoeg was, veel met de honden uit het asiel wandelen, interesseerde ik me in gedragstraining en medische verzorging van dieren. Ik ving “paliatieve” asieldieren op, was pleegmama en surrogaatmama voor papfleskittens.

Brutus

Hoe ben je met Pin-Up Pup begonnen?
Heel simpel. Ik had het idee om door middel van mooie foto’s asieldieren beter aan te prijzen. Geef toe, sommige foto’s op asielsites zien er echt te triestig uit. De hond staat er niet mooi op, in een grauwe omgeving. Ik wou vrolijke foto’s waaruit het karakter van de hond tevoorschijn kwam, pastelkleurtjes, wat retro, leuke jurkjes. Foto’s waar je geen medelijden bij voelde, maar juist “hey, leuke hond!” En dus sprak ik een vriendinnetje aan die foto’s wou trekken, en een ander vriendinnetje die visagiste is, en samen trekken we erop uit om zoveel mogelijk Pin Up pups op de foto te zetten. Pin Up Pup is dus geen grote organisatie. Ik doe letterlijk alles zelf. Elke mail, elke foto, elke adoptie volg ik zelf op.

Je hebt zelf verschillende geadopteerde dieren. Kan je iets over hen vertellen?
Daarvoor zou ik je eigenlijk aanraden om het boek te kopen, daar staan mijn 5 lieverds uitgebreid in the picture 🙂 Ze komen allemaal uit niet zo’n kosjere omstandigheden, en ik ben blij dat ik hen een rustige, stabiele en liefdevolle thuis kan bieden.

Jipke

Hoe zou je mensen ervan overtuigen om een dier te adopteren in plaats van te kopen?

Het belangrijkste argument is dat elke geadopteerde hond eigenlijk twéé geredde levens betekent. Niet alleen het leven van jouw asielhond die moest ie niet geadopteerd zijn, misschien wel een spuitje had gekregen wegens overbevolking in het asiel. Maar ook het leven van een broodfokhondje dat een nest minder moet werpen, of niet in afschuwelijke omstandigheden geboren wordt en z’n eerste levenswerken doorbrengt. Je betaalt je adoptiegeld aan een goed doel die daarmee nog meer levens kan redden, in plaats van aan een bedrieglijke fokker die je geld in z’n zakken steekt, z’n hond nog een schop verkoopt en jou met een zieke pup opzadelt. Als je nog meer redenen nodig hebt, die vind je in m’n boek 😉

Leyla

Dingo

Hoe kunnen mensen Pin-Up Pup steunen?
Door m’n boek te kopen! De opbrengst gaat naar Pin Up Pup om nog meer asielhondjes aan een thuis te helpen en de strijd tegen Broodfok verder te zetten. Verder kan je altijd asielen steunen dmv vrijwilligerswerk of donaties. En blijf mensen bewust maken van het gevaar van Broodfok. Raad mensen in je omgeving die op zoek zijn naar een huisdier altijd aan om een kijkje in het asiel te nemen!
Waar kunnen mensen Pin Up Pup volgen?
www.facebook.com/pinuppuppinuppup
Www.pinuppup.be
En ik post de pin Up pups ook op instagram.com/anlemmensofficial

Elke maand verschijnt er ook een selectie Pin Up Pups in de Woef.

Maybel

 

 

 

